I Hate Funerals and My Job
Written at 12:42 p.m. on 2006-09-12

I Hate Funerals and My Job.

It was my grandma�s funeral yesterday. I hate funerals, they�re crap, depressing and miserable except for Catholic funerals. When my friend�s dad died I went to her dad�s funeral and at the wake we all got more drunk than we�d ever been before. We ended up in a pub beer garden singing her dad�s favourite rugby songs. According to her all Catholic wakes are like that and they are some of the best days out you can have. The same does not hold true for Church of England funerals which are very serious and don�t involve much drinking. Although I do think my grandma would have been amused by the fact that a good few mourners got lost on the ridiculously complicated route between the church and crematorium and we lost a few more on the way back to the hotel for the wake. It was nice to see all my cousins but it was sad to note that the only time we all get together is when someone dies. Such is life I guess.

On another crap note I have finally come to the conclusion that I hate my job, it is mindless, tedious, badly paid and could easily be done by a moderately trained chimpanzee. I am fed up to the back teeth with making the bastard �New Starter Packs�, a job which entails printing some shit, putting it in a file, putting a number on it and sending it off, something I do dozens of times a week. Even the phrase �New starter pack� now makes my toes curl with suppressed rage. If Nigel comes into my office one more time to tell me to order stationary for him or anyone else he�s going through the bloody window head first and the next site agent that gives me shit down the phone is going to learn exactly why my brother�s friends have been terrified of my sarcastic side for 15 years. I went to uni for 3 years and racked up thousands of pounds of debt in order to work and I refuse to spend any more time than I have to being treated like the �office bitch � here to do the menial and tedious tasks that you can�t be arsed doing�. That is not what it says on my contract so it�s not what I�m here for. When you reach the stage where you wake up and you�d rather stick pins in your head than go to work it really is time to move on. So I�m beginning the enthralling and empowering task of finding a new job. There�s nothing quite like being repeatedly turned down for various jobs due to lack of experience and under-qualification to massage the ego.

Ah well, here I go. I�ll keep you posted (always assuming I don�t get arrested for maiming a collegue who requested more new starter packs).

b | a | a