Crap Week
Written at 9:16 a.m. on 2006-08-31

Crap Week
I think it would be fair to say that this week is not going tremendously well.

Firstly my grandma dies which would be bad enough in itself but since it is my brother�s wedding on Saturday and my brother is somewhat highly strung it has taken on a whole new dramatic dimension. I have now spent 3 days trying to convince him that grandma was riddled with cancer and the morphine was suppressing her immune system and that is what caused her to die, she DID NOT die just to spite him and that it is pointless to sit around saying �Why did she do this to me?� because the simple fact is that her body gave out and she didn�t have any choice in the matter. I have met with very limited success. Mum has decided that since my brother has once again managed to create a drama we all have to pretend to be happy all the time so that we convince him that everything is fine so every time you go round you are met with a kind of hideous forced cheerfulness in the manner of some sort of mental Victorian circus show. It�s horrendous. I do understand that he is upset that she died less than a week before his wedding, I would have been had it been me in his place but I think it�s a bit off to make it all about him. I mean really �Why did she do this to me?� is a bit drama-queen. She had reached the stage where she was in constant pain, the malignant melanoma was bleeding out and she couldn�t speak anymore. If I was her I�d have given up and let go as well but as usual my brother and my mum make it all about him, as everything ends up. But that�s a whole other rant that I�m not going down today.

Secondly, I get home last night to find that my dog has done a giant liquid shit on my living room floor. Dogs are incapable of just doing one crap, they have to wander about a bit to distribute it in as many places as possible which is just lovely. This now means that I either have to leave my house and go somewhere else until M gets back from work or I have to clean it up. Neither option was especially appealing but I thought I�d do the honourable thing and sort it myself. So I put on two pairs of rubber gloves and tie a scarf round my head, making myself look like some sort of freakish cross between a gang member and Jack the Ripper, and set to. I can�t even begin to describe how grim it was and why is it always when you�re dressed like a lunatic and carrying a bag of shite that there is a group of people having a chat at the end of your driveway? Anyway, I go back in and my house smells like Satan�s jockstrap. Seriously, it stinks like a giant dog poo so I decided to put my scented oilburner on and now it has a really odd smell, like a strange flowery dungpile. Also I�m slightly paranoid that I�ll have picked up the smell and people at work will be following me about, whispering that I stink.

Thirdly there is site planning going on in my boss�s office next to mine (she�s off till October because her appendix exploded in Croatia) and the whole place is full of blokey type blokes yelling and burping and generally being loud and blokish and it�s getting on my wick. Especially since my department has gone really quiet so I have no work to do which makes the day go really slowly.

God I�m a miserable bitch today. I�m off now to spend some quality time sitting at my desk ignoring the phone as I don�t want to talk to anyone and looking grumpy and unapproachable.

b | a | a