Other People's Wedding Nightmares and a Request
Written at 12:39 p.m. on 2006-05-30

Other People�s Wedding Nightmares and a Request

My brother is having a wedding nightmare. He gets married 6 weeks after I do (oooooh, 6 weeks and 4 days till the wedding folks, yay!!) and he is starting to see a side to his oh-so-girly-and-charming-fiancee that he didn�t know was there. She is becoming Bridezilla and she wants everything, and I mean EVERYTHING her way. She�s just sent him an email informing him that she isn�t happy that his family is bigger than hers, she wants the numbers more even. Now quite how the poor boy is supposed to have influenced the procreative activities of a group of people who had their children before he was born I don�t know but the inference seems to be that he has to knock either some of his family or some of his friends off his list. She�s not happy because he�s got a lot more friends than she has. I�m not even going to comment on that one, it would be too easy!!

She has informed him that he can�t have the things he wants on the gift list as she�ll be deciding that, she doesn�t want a coach to take people to and from the church and reception, she expects them to do a half hour trek on stilettos in the pissing rain of Leeds in September. Oh and he has been informed that he can�t have favours on the tables and table decorations as they are a waste of money and when he�s married she expects them to spend every xmas with her family and never with ours. At least M and I are doing alternate years, even though I�d rather stick pins in my eyes.

Strikes me that the little cow has kept all this well hidden and now the true self is coming through. He even said that if he doesn�t give in on everything she�ll whine for a week until he does. If I was him I�d be very wary of marrying this creature and it certainly sounds like they have a few issues to work out. Still, he wouldn�t listen to me anyway so may as well just express my opinions here and to my close friends so no one gets offended!

Now a request and I know it might sound a bit weird. My friend Charlotte�s mum was diagnosed with leukemia a couple of months ago and had a course of chemotherapy. From the follow up tests they have found that it hasn�t gone and is more advanced and more aggressive than they at first thought. She is about to undergo a second course of chemotherapy and if this doesn�t bring it under control then there isn�t anything further that they can do for her so it will be declared terminal. Charlotte has asked me if I�ll ask everyone I know who is a believer to pray that the second course works and for those who don�t to keep their fingers crossed for her so that�s what I�m doing. If you have a second can you give her a thought, it can�t hurt if it doesn�t help and maybe it will make a difference. Thanks very much!

b | a | a