Lunacy and Financial Embarrassment
Written at 1:17 p.m. on 2006-04-18

Lunacy and Financial Embarrassment.

Why is it that I always come back from the 4 day easter break more knackered than I started out? I suppose it could be something to do with the fact that I spend most of the weekend drinking with friends and so am pretty much wrecked for 4 days. I haven�t even dared look at the old bank balance because it�s nearly 2 weeks till pay day, M owes me �170 and I don�t want to know how overdrawn I am. I am definitely what you would call �financially embarrassed�. Or what my brother would call �piss poor�. What fun. It�s always a delight to have naff all money. With any luck I have enough overdraft left to go to Asda tonight otherwise we are going to be very very hungry by the 28th.

Just to add to the chaos that is planning my wedding, my mum and her sister have fallen out big time, possibly permanently. Which wouldn�t be so awful if my aunt wasn�t the person who was making my bridesmaid dresses and who is going to have to be at my mum�s house on the morning of the wedding to lace the girls into the dresses. Sue (my aunt) is going away next week and on Friday she said to my mum that she�d made arrangements to have the nursing home make the arrangements for Grandma�s funeral when the time came. Mum said she didn�t want the nursing arranging her mother�s funeral so she�d do it. Then Sue lost the plot and started screaming about how mum was not doing this again and how she was an unfit person to be arranging Grandma�s funeral because she ruined Grandad�s death and funeral (which incidentally she didn�t, the only person to take a mad fit there was Sue). She was banging on about how mum was having nothing to do with organising the funeral and how mum was a disgrace and a heartless bitch because she didn�t visit grandma for 2 weeks (mum had some sort of mini breakdown a couple of months ago because she was working 12 hour days and trying to take care of grandma who has dementia and it got a bit much). So mum informed her at about 90 decibels that she was a nasty, vicious bully, a control freak, a megalomaniac and a sanctimonious bitch and that they had nothing further to say to each other as it had all been said. Honestly, they�ve hated each other for 50 years could they not have just kept a lid on it for another 3 months until after my wedding? My dad is a psychiatric nurse, as is his deputy and they both reckon Sue is showing classic signs of mental illness, probably dementia because this isn�t the first odd thing she�s done. If you ask me the woman has been barking mad for years. It�s quite alarming,my grandfather on my dad�s side has been a total fruitbat since 1948, my grandma went doolally sometime in the 1990s and now my aunt�s marbles are now rolling gently out of sight. It doesn�t bode well for me really does it? Most of the women in my family go loopy. If you don�t hear from me for while don�t worry too much, It�ll just be that I�ve been institutionalized and am sitting in a day room somewhere shouting at the nurses and calling everyone �Marjorie�.

b | a | a