Weirdness and deceased guinea pigs
Written at 1:06 p.m. on 2005-11-21

Just a little entry to update what's going in my world......

The first thing I have to report is the unfortunate demise of Harold, who was my guinea pig. Now I have 2 guinea pigs, not 3. The vet said guinea pigs can get to about 5, my mate Ben said his lasted till 8. The best I have ever managed is Harold, who got to almost 4. So Sunday morning was spent attempting to dig a hole in my parent's back garden, no mean feat as the ground was frozen solid . Eventually, after an hour or so of swearing profusely at my parent's dog, who kept filling my hole up as I was digging it and an unfortunate incident where I overbalanced and knocked over the compost heap I managed to dig a hole. The next problem I discovered was that I have issues with picking up dead things. Didn't know that before as I've never actually tried it before and I had to go and drag my dad out to put the guinea pig in the hole. So we covered him up, planted a bluebell on top and it was all very sombre and respectful until my dad commented that if anyone ever bought the house and dug up the garden he'd probably get arrested as it currently contains the remains of 3 guinea pigs, a rabbit, 4 fish and an alsatian (the alsatian wasn't ours, the people there before buried it and warned us it was there, in case we dug it up and panicked). Some people have no sense of occasion.

The only other thing I really did this weekend was go to my parent's house for my brother's engagement celebration dinner. Celebration my arse. Never in my life have I seen 2 people less enthusiastic and excited by the fact that they have just got engaged. When I got engaged, the next morning it was straight down to Tesco to spend half a month's wages on wedding magazines. I then spent all my free time for about 2 weeks looking through them and cutting out bits that I liked (then promptly losing them). S acted like she couldn't really be bothered to talk about it, my brother veered between being stroppy and offhand and draping himself around S's shoulders, licking her ears and callingher 'sweetie', 'baby', 'darling' and something that sounded suspiciously like'snookie'. I preferred offhand. The other was rather disturbing and a more than a little bit wrong. And they looked distinctly underwhelmed by the presents and cheques they received. ungrateful sods, that present took the rest of my disposable income for the month, I've become a hermit until the 28th to pay for that. So if you don't bloody like it, give it back and I'll return it and go on the lash at the weekend.

Talking of weddings, M and I have had a teensy little disagreement (read 'storming row') about ours. He wants to put his family in a hotel call ed The Village and I want them in the Travel Inn. The reason for this is that they cannot be trusted the night before the wedding in a hotel with a resident's bar. You should have seen the state of them the night before his cousin's wedding, they were wrecked and his mum ended up on her arse in the middle of a restaurant, wafting an empty wine bottle round her head and howling for another bottle. Worse, they were a right state the morning of the wedding and I AM NOT having that go on at mine. So I made a load of crappy excuses as to why they shouldn't stay there and he was getting more and more stroppy until I lost my temper and told him the real reason. He didn't take it well to be honest.

Ah well, the joys of planning a wedding......

b | a | a