Moths in the wallet
Written at 9:25 a.m. on 2005-11-01

What with yesterday being halloween, both M and my dad were in fine Victor Meldrew form. I got home from work to find M in complete darkness, sat on the loo seat (lid down I might add) reading a computer magazine with the aid of a torch. I thought this was a little unusual as we normally sit in the sitting room and have the lights on so I asked him what he was up. "Avoiding the chavscum trick or treaters" he says, "I'm pretending we're not here". Whatever you like dear.

So we went to my parents house for a meeting with the lady who is helping us plan the wedding. My dad had been forced to put the lights on as we had a guest but was refusing to answer the door. "I spent �6 bloody quid on Saturday night on those little buggers. I don't mind giving a bit to the little ones who come round with their parents and have amde a bit of effort but I'm not giving out cig money to some chav who's just bought a Scream mask from the local shop". Bah humbug.

Having said that in some ways he does have a point. This year we have seen quite a few who have just bought a mask and what is more annoying is that they are working in a little gang. They come out with a group of 6 or so and will split into pairs. Then each of the pairs will do each house, meaning each group gets a payout 2 or 3 times. It's quite enterprising I suppose but rather ignores the point that it is not really meant to be a business enterprise. My brother lives in a very dodgy area of Leeds and he says that in his area if you don't give them a few quid you are fairly likely to get a lit firework through the letterbox. Nice.

b | a | a