Time, space and interference
Written at 9:54 a.m. on 2005-09-08

If anyone out there is reading this I should tell you that I'm here for a good old moan. About M's family, for a change!

M used to go to school with a lad called Lloyd who he hasn't seen for 15 years and Lloyd was killed last week in a motorbike accident. Seems to happen a lot with motorbikes, they are incredibly dangerous things. His mum was friends with this lad's mum for quite a while and his sister was friend's with Lloyd's sister (before inevitably falling out with her, as she does with everyone), so understandably they are al quite upset, as this lad was only 32. I understand this, really I do but the thing is, M and I don't get to spend a lot of time together, what with his work and stuff and every time we've sat down together to have dinner, discuss the wedding or just have a laugh, every single time, either his mother, sister or friend Ross have rung. Every time. Since last week. They are ringing up to 10 times a day, especially his mum, and now they are pushing him to go up to Scotland for the funeral and to spend a few days with them. He was only there last month and it's a 900 miles round trip but they are really putting the pressure on him and I know him, he'll crack and he'll go. I wish they wouldn't do this, it's unfair. I know they want to see and I get that, really I do but why do none of them ever make the 900 mile round trip down here? Why are we always expected to go there? And why can't they let us have just one evening to ourselves? I know his mum doesn't like it but we have a life here and I really wish that for once, just for a week maybe, she'd let us live it. The other thing that really bugs me is that if I asked him to sack off work for 4 days and hang around doing stuff with me he'd look at me as if I'd just suggested he donate his penis to medical science but if his mother starts piling on the emotional blackmail he just does it. Can you even imagine what it will be like if we have kids? Trailing toddlers the length of the country because St Dianne the Terminally Martyred has stamped her feet and demanded we jump? bugger that for a game.

Don't know what to do. In laws. If only I could have them fired into space on a doomed mission to Mars.

b | a | a