Smug boyfriend and the venue monster
Written at 1:07 p.m. on 2005-07-06

Well it's official. My dad has become the venue monster. We are trying to find a wedding venue for next year, the end of the summer and my dad decided that as father of the bride it was his duty to find a venue that matched the description of what we wanted and could fit all of our guests. Which would have been lovely had he not approached the task with all the openness of an MI5 operation. I rang one of the venues to ask to make an appointment and he reacted much as he would have done had he come home to find I'd sold his house. Has anyone else encountered this problem because it's a weird one and I'm not sure how to tame the monster that this wedding has created?

On another front, my fiance's mother is proving a problem. Her family all come from a weird small island off the North coast of Scotland somewhere and none of them have seen M since he was about 10 (he's now 31). She wants to invite virtually the whole island abd our numbers are limited, not only that but she has refused point blank to put her hand in her pocket and help in any way. My dad is less than thrilled by the idea of shelling out �50 a head for people who are only going to know who the groom is because of where he's stood in the church. And all so that his mother can play the big I Am. Grrrrr.....

So London is going to host the Olympics. This is going to make M unbearable this evening. He lived in London for a bit as a student and so views it through happy, misty, booze-tinted glasses. He regards is as a subtropical nirvana where everyone loves everyone else. We had what you might call a heated debate as to who would get t he Olympic and I said Paris on the grounds that it is less of a smoke filled craphole than London. So he's going to be very smug, very smug indeed. I wonder if anyone fancies spending the night in the pub with me so I don't have to go home.....

b | a | a