Rather less rabid
Written at 9:43 a.m. on 2007-08-22

Rather calmer now.

I�ve just read through my last entry and discovered that I do in fact sound like a maniac. This is unfortunate because while I may not be the most even tempered of creatures I am not usually quite as rabid as I sounded there. I can only blame it on the nicotine withdrawal which is now getting itself under control. Giving up smoking has in fact been rather harde than I imagined it would be. I was warned I might get mood swings but I was not warned that I would turn into human dynamite, ready to burst into tears or howling rage for no discernable reason. Stil, I haven�t ripped the arms off a stranger for a week now so things must be getting better. I�ve also stopped galring enviously at people I passed who were smoking which is fortunate as Micah said I was either going to end up with 2 black eyes or an ASBO.

I have been holiday!! We (as in me, Micah and Geoffrey the dog) all went to the Lake District and very nice it was too. There a few hairy moments ( I got chased across a field by some cows and a bull the size of Cleethorpes, I fell in a cow shit and the dog fell in river Eden, fortunately he managed to get himself out so I didn�t� have to go in and remove him) but in general it was very relaxing. Except for one thing, the end of stay clean up. I should probably explain � most of my extended family are a bit odd and this mobile home we stayed in belongs to the 4 siblings, my mum, 2 uncles and an aunt jointly. Only trouble is that my aunt seems to think it is hers and behanves accordingly. Once when I went up I accidentally left a few toast crumbs in the grill. My aunt�s husband rang my mother to complain about the 4 toast crumbs and to give her a 15 minute lecture on how I should be cleaning up properly (why he didn�t just ring me I don�t know, I�m nearly 28 and I haven�t lived at home for years). Mum, bless her, had had a bad day so politely informed him that it could have been worse, she didn�t really give a toss if I�d left a turd in the fridge coz it wasn�t her responsibility and that if he wouldn�t mind buggering off she was actually rather busy. Then she hung up. Well, all hell broke loose within the family and the resulting rift took months to heal. Other random complaints levelled at people by my mad aunt and her family include � �The caravan smells of dogs� (aimed at me and a total mystery as we hadn�t taken the dog), �Adrian has been smoking in the van� (aimed at my dad and he hadn�t), �The toilet hadn�t been scrubbed� (aimed at one of my uncles and at least it had been flushed, it could have been so much worse) and my personal favourite, �The fridge door hadn�t been left propped open� (at my uncle again, why would you turn a fridge on then prop the door open? Odd). The mad thing is I know for a cast iron fact that her son forgot to take a towel up there the last time he was there so used the resident tea towel that other people dry dishes with to dry his hairy arse and I didn�t register a complaint. I didn�t use the teatowel mind you, I took my own. Taking no chances. So Saturday morning finds me on my hands and knees in the kitchen removing dog hairs one by one with my fingernails from under the bottom of the fridge. How full on is my life??


b | a | a