Giving Up Smoking
Written at 11:41 a.m. on 2007-07-20

Giving up smoking
Well, I�m on day 6 of not smoking and I think it�s fair to say that I might have underestimated the challenge here. I am beginning to wonder if it might not be time to admit defeat and concede that just giving up with no help, no advice and more importantly no nicotine replacement therapy might have been a little overoptimistic. Funny thing is, I only really crave a cigarette when I�m drinking or when I row with Micah but the thinkg that is making me wonder whether this is such a good idea is my mood.
I�ll be honest, I�m not the most sweet tempered creature on the planet at the best of times but my mood over the past 2 days has been absolutely legendary. I am like a volcano, apt to go off without any warning, treating those around me to a burst of white hot anger and sarcasm. I am awful. I want to bite the heads off complete strangers just for having the audacity to phone my work phone, I want to cry if the computer freezes or the papers fall off my desk. It�s like PMT but 50 times worse. I�m also too hot most of the time and keep waking up in the middle of the night. The catch 22 is that I want to cig when I�m stressed, for example when I�ve had a row with Micah but I�m so foul tempered at the moment that I completely overreact to everything and that means that I�ve had a row with Micah most of the time.
I�m going to go and make an appointment with the nurse, I think it might be time to admit I need help before I end up divorced, sectioned or getting a beating off a stranger for giving them an evil stare. On thebright side I have discovered the joys of Facebook and now spend many happy hours throwing sheep at my friends, writing on walls and chatting with people I've not spoken to in years. Great fun!

b | a | a