Parties and Pills
Written at 10:14 a.m. on 2007-04-23

Parties and Pills

Well it�s been a busy couple of weeks which is my pathetic excuse for not updating my journal in lord knows how long.

The house buying / selling thing has entered that phase where you don�t see any progress and it�s all about solicitors sending each other pointless looking bits of paper and agreements and telling you it�ll be �4 to 6 weeks till completion�. Yeah yeah, that�s the equivalent of when you ring the taxi company to ask whether your taxi is coming from Manchester to Whitefield via Mumbai only to be told it�s just coming round your corner and it�ll be 5 minutes. So we�re still waiting and still not packing.

On Friday night work had a big party in Kendal to celebrate 10 years since our managing director bought out some other company and started this company. It was, as all work parties are, fully funded i.e. all the drinks were free and this led to some highly amusing behaviour. One of the lads from the plant yard was last seen being towed out of the venue with a friend on either side of him and his legs trailing behind him. A man from the NE office was smacked round the back of the head by his site agent for piddling off the balcony. Commendable of the site agent to demand good behaviour from his site lads but he has just phoned me to apologise for introducing himself as �Hi I�m John and I just wanted to say that you�ve got cracking tits�. Nice. Tits was a subject that came up several times as site lads seem to have a bit of a fascination with them. However I am now apparently known as someone who can �Take the craic�. This means that I can endure some pissed up eejit asking me if I�m going to sleep with every man in the company in turn without losing my temper and telling him to fuck off. All in all a bloody good night with the exception of a rather heated disagreement with a complete prat from South Africa and the hangover I was left with on Saturday. I have made a mental note to myself that mixing red wine, white wine, champagne, vodka, gin and lager is not clever and is not to be repeated.

I have once again been referred to a consultant. Every time the Crohn�s Disease reappears we go through the same rigmarole. I lose weight and get grumpy and depressed because none of my clothes fit and I can�t eat, I go to the consultant, he tells me to have another barium test done, I refuse and they up the dose of my medication and give me vile drinks full of fat and sugar to make me get fatter. The thing is that since there is usually a 3 or 4 year gap between flare ups I have to be re referred again every bloody time and until I�m referred I can�t get a prescription for a higher medication dose or the sugary fat filled drinks. So every time it flares up I wait 2 months to see a consultant or registrar who tells me exactly what I already know because I�ve had the damn disease for 20 years. It�s very frustrating because in that 2 months I can lose a lot of weight. All in all it�s a very frustrating sort of illness. Most of the time it�s ok, you can get by without too many problems but when it becomes active it�s very nasty. You can�t eat so you�re starving and you lose weight fast. The rapid weight loss leads to depression so you�re tired, fed up, in pain, nauseous and generally mightily pissed off. This can take up to 12 months to stabilize and it�s a hard slog to get there. The thing that really really pisses you off though is the knowledge that however nasty it is and however hard you fight to beat it and get it back under control you are still going to be back to square one in a couple of years and you�re going to have to do it all again. And again. And again. Until someone finds a cure for the damn thing which may not even happen in your lifetime. Still, I don�t exactly have a great deal of options do I? It�s either fight it and try and have a normal existence until it�s under control again or give in, sit around crying and feeling sorry for myself. This isn�t really my style so for now I�ll sit here and contemplate whether eating lunch is going to hurt.

Sodding thing.

b | a | a