The run up to christmas
Written at 12:17 p.m. on 2006-12-04

We�re coming up to Christmas
Well we�re on the run up to Christmas again. Doesn�t seem that long since the last time which must mean I�m getting old. This is an unfortunate side effect of still being alive and means that eventually, at some point in the dim and distant future I will no doubt wake up with the grey perm that ALL old ladies have. Christmas this year is going to be spent with Micah�s family. I have to say that I would rather remove my own spleen with a rusty teaspoon and kick it round the park than do this and I had refused point blank to ever do it again after the last fiasco but then somewhere around October I got pissed and agreed to go. I really shouldn�t be held to things I agree to while pissed, mainly because I agree to some really stupid things. You�d think I�d learn to just remain entirely silent after 3 drinks but it would appear that I don�t. We have compromised though, we are going to drive there instead of taking the train and if his sister starts then we�re out of there. It�s not even just that she has tantrums for no reason, it�s that you spend a week walking on eggshells trying not to say the wrong thing and it makes me edgy. I can�t even go for a cigarette because if I say I�m off to the garden for one they all look at me like I�ve just announced I�m going to go and bare my arse in front of the alter at midnight Mass. Ah well. Still got 2 weeks to go before we have to go there so I�ll just keep kidding myself that the time will never come round�.

I�m not sure what I am allergic to but I�m definitely allergic to something. How do I know this? Because I have sprouted a crop of 5 truly enormous spots on my chin. I look like the elephant man�s slightly more lumpy sister and they hurt. Also the skin on the back of my knees feels like a nest of angry fleas are wrestling on it. I am the least sensitive person I know so how did I end up with sensitive skin? I suspect it could be the fabric conditioner but I like having nice smelling washing so I�m not sure what to do. I bought the one recommended by the British Allergy Foundation so they obviously don�t have a bloody clue what they�re on about. Buggers. I might write to them and demand to know why they are giving advice that leads to crippling zits on chins.

b | a | a