Going to Speak to the Boss
Written at 8:53 a.m. on 2006-10-23

Going to Speak to the Boss.

I�ve decided that today I�m going to go and speak to my boss to see if there is anything she can do about my job. She is going to be doing 2 days a week or so until she gets back to full strength which could take a while so I thought maybe she could train me up to assist in her job and they could get an office junior in to do the more tedious of the shit that currently lands on my desk. I now have to try and find a tactful and diplomatic way of saying �I can�t work with Nigel as things stand because the guy has more toes than brain cells and the next time he leaves a post-it note on my desk demanding I order him some stationary I am going to beat him to death in the car park. I also feel I should have a pay rise and more responsibility because I am better qualified and more intelligent than the North East advisor who proved beyond a shadow of a doubt last week that he is essentially entirely useless�. I have a bit of work to do. Not sure how this is going to pan out but I have to try something because a week of applying to agencies and for jobs (and yes I know that isn�t very long) has not resulted in a job offer and I�m getting to the stage where the words �New Starter Pack� provoke unreasonable rage within me.

Yesterday we went to clear out the final bits of furniture out of my grandparent�s house ready for the exchanging of keys with the new owner. It was a bit sad seeing the old, familiar house that we used to play in and stay at when we were small with a �Sold� sign in the garden. The saddest bit was clearing out the greenhouse. My granddad bought it for grandma years back, before I was born and grandma loved that greenhouse better than anywhere else in the house. I had to do that because mum couldn�t. While clearing out I found the original instructions for putting up the greenhouse which caused much hilarity, not just because it was SO granddad to still have the instructions but also because they were titled �Erection Instructions� and included a section called �Preparation for Erection�. My dad and me were very amused by this. I�ve got some pics from the house that I was going to put on today but I took them on my phone and I forgot the damn data cable so I�ll have to do it tomorrow.


b | a | a