My Wedding Day
Written at 9:09 a.m. on 2006-07-31

I�m back and this time I�m Married!

Well it�s now the 31st July and I have officially been married for 2 weeks and 2 days and am now back from my main honeymoon, BOOOOOOOO.

Being back at work sucks big time. But fortunately I�m only here today and tomorrow and then I�m off to the Lake District for two weeks.

Ooh, I�ve got so much to say it�s going to take about 4 entries to cover it all but I�ll start with the wedding. The night before the wedding I just had a few of the girlies round for a couple of glasses of fizz and a chat which was lovely. We went to bed about 11 and contrary to what everyone had advised me would happen I slept like the dead until morning. Admittedly about 6 in the morning but that�s because the curtains in my old room are really thin so if it�s sunny the morning light hits you about 6am with blinding intensity of a nuclear strike. The wedding went absolutely perfectly. The sun was shining, the sky was blue, the birds were singing, I accidentally sent all my makeup to the hotel we were staying at that night and had to scrape together stuff from my bridesmaids to do my face but it didn�t matter. Arrived at the church about 15 minutes late, not at all bad for me. The service was perfect, driving to the reception was fab in the lovely vintage Bentley and the reception was absolutely brilliant. Tatton looked truly stunning in the sunshine and from the Italian Terrace you oculd see out across the fields and lake right out to the far distant hills. All the Scottish lads from Micah�s side kept everyone on the dance floor and it was like a giant cailie. I didn�t want it to ever end but it did! So many people have said it was the best wedding they�ve ever been to which is lovely coz I was so worried about everyone having a nice time. I would describe it more thoroughly but it all went by in such a huge whirl and if I put every tiny detail in this entry will take 2 days to read! As soon as I get a chance I�ll put the photos up somewhere so anyone who is interested can have a little look. Will put a link in from here so it�s easy to find.

Will cover the honeymoon in the next entry.

There was only one thing that marred the wedding slightly and that was the behaviour and attitude of one of bridesmaids. Lou, Cass and little Jessica were fantastic, endlessly patient, always interested and enthusiastic and generally thrilled to be involved. I can�t thank them or praise them enough. Clare on the other hand, one of my supposed best friends and someone I�ve been close to for 15 years was what could best be described as a self absorbed waste of space as a bridesmaid. List of things Clare did that pissed me off would go as follows:
1) Didn�t bother to get in touch at all during the planning so I always had to chase her because she�s got a man (been seeing him for about 4 months) so doesn�t give a shit about anything else.
2) Informed me that she couldn�t come to the hen night because she had to go shopping with Sean (her man). Then informed me that she wouldn�t be able to give me a hand with the final bits in the couple of days before the wedding because Sean had taken some time off so she would be spending it with him.
3) Announced her engagement (to boyfriend of four months) a week before my wedding despite the fact that she and he have no plans to set a date as yet.
4) Spent the better part of my wedding rehearsal trying to talk to the minister conducting my service about her wedding and her plans and the Catholic wedding service. My minister is Unitarian, not Catholic.
5) Sat through dinner at my wedding with a face like a smacked arse because she wasn�t sat next to Sean and then after the meal went and sat with Sean. She then didn�t move for the rest of the reception, didn�t circulate, in fact didn�t bother to speak to anyone, including me.
6) Came up to me while I�m in the middle of a conversation with some friends of the family (doing the wedding �rounds�!) to ask me if I would mind if I wasn�t her chief bridesmaid because Ciera expected to be her chief bridesmaid but I could be the matron of honour instead. Now a) I�m in the middle of a conversation so please don�t interrupt me with trivia that will wait and b) it�s my bloody wedding day so at least have the decency and respect to leave the planning of your stupid service till my reception has finished.
7) Everyone has been in touch since I got back from honeymoon to say hi, did you have a good time, how are you, must meet up etc with the exception of Clare.

And she wants me to be a bridesmaid? Forget it, not interested. I mean obviously I�d love to but M might need the fluff picking out from between his toes that day so I�m afraid I have to be on call for that. But even having the most selfish, sour faced bridesmaid the world has yet know couldn�t dent my day because it was completely and utterly perfect and I�m just gutted that it�s over and I can�t rewind time because I�d give anything to do the day again. It truly was the best day of my life.

b | a | a