Chaotic Weekend and Money Troubles
Written at 12:54 p.m. on 2006-04-24

Chaotic weekend and money troubles.

Well where do I even start? This weekend has been a non-stop rollercoaster of shite. Let�s start at the beginning � Friday night, when I was going to the pub but fortunately decided to check my account balance first, only to discover that I had roughly enough of my overdraft left to buy food this week so going out and drowning my financial sorrows was not an option. So M and I stayed in and watched telly instead. I now remember why it is that I go to the pub every Friday, the tv on a Friday is shockingly bad, possibly some sort of government drive to boost the economy by getting everyone out spending cash on a Friday night?

So Saturday morning my mum rings to inform me my gran has died. Not her mum who is the nice one but my dad�s mum who I didn�t see for 15 years after an enormous family fight but who I visited a couple of weeks ago on the grounds it was probably time to make the peace as the woman was dying. But that�s a whole other story for another time. Anyway, mum rang to say she�d died. It took a little while for this to sink in because I am in fact clinically braindead for at least 15 minutes after waking and she woke me up by phoning. I actually cut her off the first time she phoned as I thought it was Friday and she was my alarm. So that was nice. Now I have to go to a funeral in bloddy Ashford, an unmitigated shit tip of a place and see my grandfather, a man I never wanted to see again in my life and my cousin Natalie who is the human equivalent of Mount St Helen�s, completely mentally unstable and likely to go off at any time with devastating consequences. The last time I had contact with her was about 3 years ago when she sent me a letter to inform me that she had reported my grandfather to the police and that they would be getting in contact with me to bring me in and make a statement. Yeah, thanks for that mate, 12 years learning to forget something and you just come along and without so much as a by your leave piss on the whole damn process. And to what end? Nothing, because the guy is 80 odd, as mad as a box of frogs and clearly no longer a threat to society. So the chances of successfully getting a case to court and securing a prosecution? Somewhat less than me growing wings and scales and learning to breathe fire. Silly cow.

And we�re skint. I don�t just mean we are having a temporary cash flow crisis, I mean we are fucked. M�s business has gone quiet. Not just a few less calls than normal but complete silence, he�s getting about 3 jobs a week. This is not enough for us to live on as my wages are not exactly great. This last month I paid the mortgage myself and most of the food as well as my usual bills and I�m so broke it�s not funny. The thing is he has just got a new advert coming out in a local business directory and he thinks that this is going to solve all our financial problems. It just isn�t. PCs are more efficient now so they don�t break as often, that�s our problem but will he acknowledge this? Will he bugger. He refuses to contemplate the idea of a Plan B or even diversifying and if I mention it he goes off his nut and starts getting really annoyed. I have no idea what to do. If he doesn�t get alternative work soon we are going to lose the bloody house and then we�re royally fucked. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. This is the point where I would usually do a runner up to the Lake District to give myself time and space to think (that�s always been my way of dealing with things) but I haven�t got any holiday time left and so all I can do is smoke more than is good for me and get more and more stressed.

This week is shaping up to be a blinder. Lovely.

b | a | a