I'm very cross
Written at 12:53 p.m. on 2006-01-16

I�m cross.

Very cross.

My friend Lou, who has been my friend since I was born has got a sister called Cheryl. Cheryl is loathsome. She�s always been loathsome, she�s a compulsive liar, attention seeker and manipulator. She is an expert in manipulating her family into doing whatever she wants. She doesn�t have any friends and so Lou is forced (by her mother) to take Cheryl to everything she is invited to. This wouldn�t be so bad if Cheryl was actually interesting, if she had anything of any value to say but she doesn�t. If she bothers speaking to you at all it is either to patronize you about something (even though she is 5 years younger than the rest of us and has fewer qualifications and less education than my office chair) or to go on about how she doesn�t have a mortgage, doesn�t pay bills and doesn�t have to work and tell us how much we must wish we had her life. Which we clearly don�t. Or she rabbits on and on about how she and Carl (her other half, father of her daughter) have sex at least twice a day. I don�t want to know about her sex life, she makes my skin crawl, and besides, he works 12 hour days so I know she�s lying.

Anyway, on Saturday night I had a girl�s night in for a few of us who are too skint after Christmas to go out and who are in danger of becoming bearded hermits who shrink from daylight. Lou was coming on later because she was at a dinner for some visiting family and I asked her specifically not to bring Cheryl because Amy and she had had a falling out during the week. So 11 o�clock Lou arrives, with Cheryl in tow because her mother had kicked off and said she had to bring her. She had a face on her like a freshly slapped arse and was obviously in a huge great mood about something. She walked into my house, shouted at my dog and plonked herself on the floor like a dropped pie then didn�t say a single word all night. We were having a lovely chatty night and when she arrived the atmosphere totally changed, it was awful. 5 of the girls left after half an hour of her arriving and Cass (my best friend) stayed an hour. She only did that because she could see I was blazing mad, bless her. So basically the cow wrecked my girl�s night. I�m not happy and am currently trying to work up the courage to tell Lou I don�t want Cheryl coming to my house again. Is it truly gutless to text her this information rather than asking? I suppose it is isn�t it? Trouble is, last time Amy didn�t invite Cheryl to something her mother (who is friends with mine and Amy�s parents) went mental and it all got very nasty. It�s a difficult situation.

b | a | a