In disgrace
Written at 8:36 a.m. on 2005-10-11

M is in disgrace.

Not with me, I don't tend to do sulking because when I was younger if you sulked my family didn't used to take any notice which made it kind of pointless. No, he is in disgrace with his mother. Seamus McSween (how good is that name!!) his mother's second cousin or something, from Uist (an island off the north coast of Scotland) died about 3 weeks ago. M is not a big one for sending cards, so His brother said he'd put our names on a card from he and his wife so that's what he did. Now his mother has been on the phone giving him a right bollocking for not sending a card. First he got shouted out but shouting never really makes much of an impact on M, he's not especially sensitive. So she started on the "Do you not care about family? Family should be the most important thing in your life, not the things you are doing in ENGLAND (this said with maximum disdain)". Nearly as amusing as the time she said to him, in front of me "I'm family so I should be far more important to you than a GIRLFRIEND and you should be putting my feelings first". Thanks a lot you big mad witch.

Mind you, she isn't as bad as my brother's mate Kev's mum. She is truly deranged. She didn't want Kev to go to Leeds uni because she wanted him to stay at home where she could look after him, but he went anyway. When he finished he moved back home. My mum was talking to her and joing about "They move out and you think you've got rid of them, then they move back! I bet you can't wait till he gets a job and his own place". Kev's mum looks her straight in the eye with a totally blank face and says "Why would I want that? I've only just got him back and there's no way I'm letting him go again". As mum said, there's more than a hint of madness there. Kev had an extremly ratty and sorry looking ponytail that reached halfway down his back and he realised when he graduated that if he was going to get a job he'd have to cut it off. So his mum cut the thing off, in the kitchen. Did she sling it in the bin as any normal person would? Did she hell. She's kept it and it now has pride of place on their mantlepiece. How grim is that? She's the kind of maniac that would wall mount Kev's toenail clippings.

How weird are other people's families? I wonder if people think the same about mine?

b | a | a