Site Eejits
Written at 12:42 p.m. on 2005-09-09

I've had a decent nights sleep and am now in a much better mood than I was yesterday. Which is fortunate because I really was grumpy yesterday!

I underestimated M! He hasn't gone to the funeral. It's probably best because it might look a bit weird turning up the funeral of someone you haven't spoken to since 1993. Funerals are peculiar things really. Church of England funerals are really miserable affairs where everyone goes to a church, sings some sad hymms, cries a bit and then people go to the family's house to eat soggy sandwiches and glare at the people who've sneaked outside for a crafty cigarette. One of my best friends fathers died last year and I went to an Irish Catholic funeral. They are a totally different animal. Everyone goes to a church to sit through a very long service with lots of hymms and readings. After that you go to a graveyard where everyone chats to each other in quiet voices while the family throws earth in. Then everyone goes to the pub to get utterly, riotously, ridiculously drunk. Clare's dad's wake was probably the most drunk I've ever been. By midnight(and the funeral was at 11.30am) Clare, Keira and me were doing the Timewarp on a pub table and I'd uprooted a daffodil and put it, soil and all, on Keira's head. Keira had knocked a pub table over while doing the conga and Clare's sister fell asleep ont he bonnet of a stranger's car. It was a classy event and no mistake.

Today is officially 'Site Eejit day'. Lots of the eejits working on site have rung me up this morning to ask me the most stupid of questions.
"Is that Vic?"
"Yep"
"I've sent my form off for a new CITB card. Where is it?"
Where is what? The card? The form? The blue chicken with rigger boots on, what? The card. Oh right the card, well since I didn't see your form, I don't know when you sent it and I don't work for the CITB how in the wide world of sport would I know?
"When will I get my site supervisor card?"
Well, since in the first instance you aren't a site supervisor and in the second you haven't applied for one my guess is yours will arrive the far side of never.

Still, it's Friday and I go home in 3 and half hours.YAY!!!

b | a | a