MRSA
Written at 9:07 a.m. on 2005-08-02

MRSA. You hear a lot about it but it isn't something I've come up against before. My grandma has been having radiotherapy for the rapidly spreading malignant melanoma on her leg (if any one out there is squeamish now might be the time to go and read something else because this is not pleasant) and she now has possible MRSA in the wound. Mum warned me before I went to visit the other day that the smell coming from the leg was rather antisocial but I thought she was exaggerating because she is seriously squeamish. She wasn't. At first there was just a faint whiff which I thought was a bit grim but not too bad and then a got a socking great wave of it. Now I'm someone who can sit through a whole episode of Casualty without flinching but I swear I nearly fell off my chair. It was indescribable. Fortunately mum says they have now started changing the dressing twice a day instead of once which has improved things but that smell is something I'm never going to forget. Grim.

On a better note I got a pay rise. I'm not going to be buying the yacht in the Bahamas anytime soon or anything but hey, every little helps.

b | a | a